Mirica Group Members

Group members of the Mirica Lab are diverse researchers coming from different nations, cultural backgrounds, and also research interests! Here, you can find the names, educational background, and contact information for both our current post docs, graduate students, undergraduates, and alumni. We also welcome you to take a look at our Group Photos and reach out via our Contact Us page.

Illinois Chemistry makes an effort to support climate and diversity through the Graduate Diversity and Program Office which details UIUC Chemistry events, initiatives, organizations, and resources for supporting a diverse research community.


Liviu M. Mirica


Postdoctoral Researchers


Dae Young Bae

  • dybae@illinois.edu
  • Ph.D., Chemistry, Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH) (2020)
  • B.S, Chemistry, POSTECH (2014)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Monika Rana

  • monika21@illinois.edu
  • Ph.D., Chemistry, Central University of Rajasthan (2021)
  • M.Sc. Chemistry, Central University of Rajasthan (2015)
  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Chemistry, Miranda House, Delhi University (2013)
  • Division Area: Chemical Biology

Saumitra Bhowmik

  • saumitra@illinois.edu
  • Ph.D., Chemistry, IISER Kolkata (2023)
  • M.Sc. Chemistry, University of Calcutta (2015)
  • B.Sc. (Hons.) Chemistry, R. K. M. V. C. College, West Bengal State University (2013)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Donghyun Jeong

  • djeong17@illinois.edu
  • Ph.D., Emerging Materials Science, Daegu Gyeongbuk Institute of Science and Technology (DGIST) (2022)
  • B.S. Chemical Engineering, Dankook University (2015)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Chi-Herng (Daniel) Hu

  • chhu2@illinois.edu
  • Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (2023)
  • B.S., Chemistry, National Taiwan University (2017)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Graduate Students


Karna Terpstra


Sagnik Chakrabarti

  • sagnikc2@illinois.edu
  • M.Sc., Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (2019)
  • B.Sc., Chemistry, Presidency University, Kolkata (2017)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Annika Holm

  • arholm2@illinois.edu
  • B.A., Chemistry, Sonoma State University (2019)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry
  • NSF GRFP Fellow (2021)

Jubyeong Chae

  • chae17@illinois.edu
  • M.S., Chemistry, Seoul National University of Science and Technology (2020)
  • B.S., Chemistry, Seoul National University of Science and Technology (2017)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Amy Wahlmeier

  • amyjw4@illinois.edu
  • B.S., Chemistry, Nebraska Wesleyan University (2019)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry
  • NSF GRFP Fellow (2022)

Luke Westawker

  • lukepw2@illinois.edu
  • B.A., Chemistry & German, Carleton College (2020)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry
  • NSF GRFP Fellow (2023)

Glenn Blade

  • glennb2@illinois.edu
  • B.S., Biochemistry, St. Edward’s University (2021)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry


Tarek El Sayed

  • tareke2@illinois.edu
  • B.S., Chemistry, University of British Columbia (UBC) (2021)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Citlali Gutierrez

  • citlali3@illinois.edu
  • B.S. Chemistry/Biochemistry, University of West Florida (2021)
  • Division Area: Chemical Biology
  • NIH CBI-TP Fellow (2021)
  • NSF GRFP Fellow (2023)

Shounak Nath

  • shounak2@illinois.edu
  • M.S., Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science (2021)
  • B.S., Chemistry, Indian Institute of Science (2020)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Kerui “Kerry” Xu

  • keruixu2@illinois.edu
  • B.S. Chemistry, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2020)
  • Division Area: Analytical Chemistry

Siddhartha Banerjee

  • sb86@illinois.edu
  • M.Sc., Chemistry, Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology (VNIT), Nagpur, India (2023)
  • B.Sc., Chemistry, Scottish Church College, University of Calcutta, India (2021)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Joshua Leung

  • jjleung3@illinois.edu
  • B.S., Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley (2022)
  • Division Area: Inorganic Chemistry

Undergraduate Students


Jazmin Garcia

  • jazming2@illinois.edu
  • Area of study: Chemistry Major, Spanish Minor, Forensic Science Certificate (Expected graduation May 2025)
  • Area of research: Chemical Biology (mentor: Citlali Gutierrez)

Akhil Patel

  • apate513@illinois.edu
  • Area of study: Molecular Cellular Biology Major, Chemistry Minor (Expected graduation May 2025)
  • Area of research: Chemical Biology (mentor: Tarek El Sayed)

Hammed Adeoye

  • hadeo2@illinois.edu
  • Area of study: Biochemistry Major, Chemistry Minor (Expected graduation May 2026)
  • Area of research: Chemical Biology (mentor: Karna Terpstra)
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Untitled.jpg

Zara Lateef

  • zlateef2@illinois.edu
  • Area of study: Chemistry Major (Expected graduation May 2025)
  • Area of research: Chemical Biology (mentor: Glenn Blade)

Alexander Glogovac

  • ag89@illinois.edu
  • Area of study: Chemistry major, Spanish minor, Mathematics minor (Expected graduation May 2026)
  • Area of research: Inorganic Chemistry (mentor: Jubyeong Chae)


Alumni


PostdocsCurrent Institution
Dr. Emi Evangelio, 2011Catalan Institute of Nanoscience & Nanotechnologyeevangelio@wustl.edu
Dr. Julia Khusnutdinova, 2011Okinawa Institute of Science and Technologyjuliak@weizmann.ac.il
Dr. Wei-Chih Lee, 2012Industrial Technology Research Instituteweichihlee@gmail.com
Dr. Bo Zheng, 2013Cerion Nanomaterialszhengbozy@gmail.com
Dr. Anuj Sharma, 2014Central University of Rajasthanaks.iitk@gmail.com
Dr. Wen Zhou, 2016Johnson & Johnsonwenzhou@brandeis.edu
Dr. Hui Duan, 2017huiduan@wustl.edu
Dr. Bennett Eleazorbeleazer@illinois.edu
Dr. Liang Sun, 2021Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Centerliangsun@illinois.edu
Dr. Soumalya Sinha, 2021University of Cincinnatisoumalya@illinois.edu
Dr. Hong-Jun Cho, 2021Pfizer, Inc.hjcho@illinois.edu
Dr. Hanah Na, 2022Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technologyhanahna@illinois.edu
Graduate StudentsCurrent Institution
Stephanie Tucker, 2011spavlova2@gmail.com
Daniel Weisz, 2011daweisz@wustl.edu
Jia Luo, Ph.D. 2014jluo@artsci.wustl.edu
Fengzhi Tang, Ph.D. 2014Eurofins EAG Materials Sciences LLCftang@artsci.wustl.edu
Fengrui Qu, Ph.D. 2014X-Ray Crystallographer, University of Michigan, Ann Arborfengruiqu@gmail.com
Barrie Cascella, Ph.D. 2014bgcascella@gmail.com
Ying Zhang, Ph.D. 2014yzhangg@artsci.wustl.edu
Shuai Zheng, 2015shuai.zheng@wustl.edu
Jason Schultz, Ph.D. 20163Mjschultz821@gmail.com
Michael Watson, Ph.D. 2017mbwatson@wustl.edu
Andrew Wessel, Ph.D. 2017USDAwessel.andrew@wustl.edu
Nick Ruhs, Ph.D.Florida State Universitynruhs@wustl.edu
Kei Fuchigami, 2017fuchigami@wustl.edu
Emily Reeves, 2016emilyreeves@wust.edu
Liang Sun
Sofia Smith, Ph.D.smsmith @wust.edu
Neil Heberer, M.S. 2021Revolution Medicines
Yiran Huang, Ph.D. 2021Merck & Co.yiranh3@illinois.edu
Yung-Ching Wang, Ph.D. 2021Intel Corporationycwang3@illinois.edu
Yujue Wang, Ph.D. 2021University of Pennsylvaniayujuew2@illinois.edu
Gina Tran, Ph.D.Intel Corporationgiangt2@illinois.edu
Leonel Griego, Ph.D. 2021lgriego2@illinois.edu
Zhengxin Yu, Ph.D. 2023N1 Life, Inc.martinyu@illinois.edu
Yusuff Moshood, M.S. 2023moshood2@illinois.edu
Chi-Herng Hu, Ph.D. 2023UIUC, post-docchhu2@illinois.edu
Alyssa Mohr, M.S. 2024almohr2@illinois.edu
Rachel Wallick, Ph.D. 2024Argonne National Labwallick3@illinois.edu
Bailey Bouley, Ph.D. 2024X-Ray Crystallographer, Texas Tech Universitybbouley2@illinois.edu
UndergraduatesCurrent Institution
Shayna Weiner, 2009
Megan Kelly, 2009
Michael Schultz, 2010
Aakash Gandhi, 2011
Nick Hawco, 2011
Jacob Shaw, 2011
Kathleen Hagan, 2011
Madeleine Coutre, 2011
Madeleine Coutre, 2011
Darren Finkelstein, 2011PhD, Stanford University (DuBois lab), Pilant Therapeutics
Sungho Park, 2013PhD, University of Wisconsin Madison (Berry lab)
Tim Prior, 2013
Lauren Raskauskas
Walter Fu
Philip Azanov, 2014
Nathaniel Blecher, 2015
Ryan Sun, 2015
Hyo Jin Jang, 2015
Aaron Rhee, 2015
Maya Sorini, 2016
Veronica Li, 2017
Aidan Levine, 2017Graduate school, University of Arizona College of Medicine
Justin Chu, 2018
Alice Hsu, 2018
Emily Morgan, 2018Graduate school, UCSB (Seshadri lab)
Shrey Patel, 2022Medical school, Carle Illinois College of Medicine
Ian Garvey, 2023Graduate school, University of Wisconsin Madison (Stahl lab)
Nicholas Cedron, 2023Graduate school, The Ohio State University (Thomas lab)